up_poster_carl-342x500I’m getting a little bit tired of seeing films only after Silvery Dude has done so, but to be fair I have been away and he does have children to entertain during half term so it’s probably not such a surprise that he got to see Up first.

A bit of context: the Book God and I like to go out and do something special to mark the end of our annual holiday. In previous years it’s been theatre or concerts, but this time we definitely wanted to see a movie. And for a while it was a toss-up between Up and The Imaginarium of Dr Parnassus, and Up won out largely because of personal recommendations in other words I haven’t met anyone who hasn’t liked it.

The plot: Carl is a widower who has lost his sense of direction since the death of his wife, and is beset by developers who are encroaching on the little house which he and his late wife Ellie had made into a home which reflected their love of adventure. And he decides he’s had enough and attaches a huge number of balloons to the building with the aim of floating away to South America, where he and Ellie had always hoped to end up. Unfortunately Russell, a Wilderness Explorer who wants to help Carl so that he can be awarded with his last remaining badge, has accidentally stowed away (well you don’t expect houses to just float away do you?). Cue a bit of slapstick and lessons about friendship learned all round.

What I loved about the movie = Carl; Russell; the talking dogs; the whole look of the film; the first twenty minutes (which are fabulous); having a senior as the hero; having another senior as the villain (I can never get enough of Christopher Plummer; someone give that man a knighthood).

Dislikes or quibbles = none, just loved it…

Rating stuff = U (mild threat)

Tissue count = I totally embarrassed myself, cried like a sentimental old fool (it was very satisfying, I have to say)

Safety Cushion = totally unnecessary.

So another point I should make is that I deliberately went to see this in 2D and have to say that I couldn’t see how it could have ben any better in 3D, which I find difficult to watch anyway (the glasses give me a headache).

Some people have also said that the rest of the film doesn’t live up to its opening twenty minutes but I didn’t find the change of tone a problem, and the little girl sitting behind us with her dad was clearly enraptured so the movie satisfied a forty-five year age span and that spells success to me.

Has already been added to the must-be-purchased list.

