I was so, so looking forward to Kick-Ass and I’m happy to say up-front that it didn’t disappoint, although there’s lots of stuff around the cinematic experience itself that I will go into later.

So Dave is a geek (or nerd – I’m never sure what the difference is, must look it up sometime) who loves comics and one day just asks the question why don’t ordinary people dress up as superheroes and do some good? And not having got a satisfactory answer decides to do that very thing. Of course it doesn’t go well at first, but he gets caught up with Big Daddy and Hit Girl – real, proper vigilantes with significant amounts of weaponry and a target in the shape of local gangster Frank D’Amico…..

Things I loved = really good performances from Aaron Johnson and Chloe Moretz, and even from Nicolas Cage who tends to be a bit wonky on the acting front these days, but the stand-out for me is Mark Strong, as always a great villain; special effects are excellent; it’s very funny

Things liked not so much = actually I had no problems with this at all, the only slightly queasy moment was seeing a big bloke like Mark Strong beating up a wee girl, albeit one who has killed a lot of people throughout the movie and is armed to the teeth

Rating stuff = surprisingly (given the violence and the language) this is a 15 in the UK, due to strong language, one use of very strong language and strong bloody comic violence – but comic is the appropriate word here

Tissue count = duh, no way

Safety Cushion = likewise, might have missed something good if I’d been hiding

So, all in all really great stuff and straight onto the DVD list, but that doesn’t mean this is to everyone’s taste. The language, especially when used by someone as young as Hit Girl may be too much for some (though you should have heard how some of the kids I grew up with used to speak – would make your hair stand on end) but is very funny in context. The violence is pretty strong and I think this was borderline 18 territory.

What I found astounding was that a group of youngsters were brought into the cinema by an adult (a woman so presumably somebody’s Mum) and parked in the seats in front of me and the Book God. And one of the kids in particular spent most of the film covering his eyes and/or ears. If he was 15 I’m George Clooney, and it just made me wonder whether people (other than nerdy types like me) pay attention to ratings because surely they couldn’t have missed all the chatter about this film and its suitability for youngsters.

But there you go, what do I know?

Enjoyed it so much I’ve bought the graphic novel which is already throwing up some interesting differences from the movie, but more on that anon.

