So Grosse Pointe Blank is another one of those movies that has been sitting in the stacks for absolutely ages in various formats not being watched. And it’s yet another confession of mine that led Silvery Dude’s jaw to hit the floor when he realised that I hadn’t watched this film. And annoyingly he’ll be able to gloat in a dude-like way when he realises how much I loved it.

Might not tell him.

So John Cusack is a hit man whose business isn’t going as well as it might (possibly because he’s become disenchanted by the whole thing) and who combines a new assignment with his 10 year high school reunion, which gives him the opportunity to hook up with the girl (Minnie Driver) whom he stood up on Prom Night, while trying to avoid a rival (Dan Aykroyd) who wants to set up a kind of trade union for assassins.

How do you think it’s going to turn out?

Things I loved = the whole thing is fabulous; it’s great to see John Cusack at his gorgeous best (given that the most recent thing I saw him in was 2012 which, let’s face it, was not his best work); Minnie Driver was a revelation (I confess she is someone I have never really warmed to); it’s always good to see Dan Aykroyd being funny, especially in a sinister way; and it’s very, very amusing

Things not so much liked = did you read the above? For the avoidance of doubt, I just adored this

Rating stuff = 15 (contains strong language and violence)

Tissue count = 0

Safety cushion = the thing with the pen and the thing with the TV made me wince slightly while still giggling

This looks like its going to become a firm favourite – just thinking about it makes me smile.

Silvery Dude is right again, curse him……

