So, in I Love You Phillip Morris Steven Russell is a policeman who is apparently happily married but he has secrets, mainly the search for his biological mother (who when he does find her very near the beginning of the film rejects him again) and the small matter that he is, in fact, gay.

After an accident he decides to leave his family and live openly as a gay man, but one with very much champagne tastes, which leads him into a variety of criminal activity, mostly credit card fraud. He gets caught, sent to jail, meets the eponymous Phillip, and the rest of the film is basically about the lengths he will go to in order to ensure they stay together. In the manner to which he has become accustomed, of course.

Things I loved = although this isn’t as hilarious as some reviews made out, it is certainly very funny in places; Ewan McGregor is very sweet as Phillip; it has Mr Dresdan from the Orange movie adverts doing proper acting (which is always slightly weird); it is based on a true story, apparently

Things not loved so much = well, my love-hate relationship with Jim Carrey continues; he doesn’t reach his best here (for me that would be Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and The Truman Show), but nor does he plummet Grinchwards. I think he crosses the line into creepiness once to often for me to be entirely comfortable with his performance.

Rating stuff = 15 (for strong sex – ’nuff said)

Tissue count = 0

Safety cushion = not required

I feel that I’m damning this film with faint praise as I did actually enjoy it a lot and laughed out loud several times, but it’s not on the must-buy list simply because of the Carrey thing. Good to see a funny film that’s trying to do something a little different. Definitely in the quirky box.

