So full disclosure here before I start talking about Inception in detail – this is my film of the year so far. I was lucky enough to see this at the IMAX in London and I was so enthralled by it that if I could have I would have sat through it all again immediately. I know it’s not perfect but I just loved it to bits. It has gone straight onto my DVD buy list and I will get my hands on it as soon as I legitimately can.

Plot synopsis (stick with me here) – Cobb has a particular talent, which is to get into someone’s subconscious while they are dreaming in order to steal their secrets. When he is offered the chance to go home to his family (which he can’t at the moment for reasons which are explained as the film unfolds) by undertaking the hitherto-considered-impossible act of planting an idea in a dreamer’s mind, he takes a shot, pulling together an expert team.

But hey, who’d have thought it, there’s a wee bit of a problem….

That almost made sense

Things I loved = oooh, where to start? Every time I see Leonardo Di Caprio I find I love him more; this is a supporting cast to die for but particular mentions for Tom Hardy and Joseph Gordon-Levitt; the special effects are brilliant and breathtakingly clever; oh, and the ending, well all I can say is audible gasps (me included)

Things not liked so much = move along, nothing to see here

Ratings stuff = 12A for moderate violence

Tissue count = 0

Safety cushion = not needed

I could go on about this for ages in an increasingly incoherent fan girl rambling sort of way. I know it has plot holes the size of a very large hole shaped thing if you think about it for too long.

But it’s proper grown-up science-fictiony thriller stuff, and in a world that can give us the A-Team asa movie goodness knows we need Inception.

Go and see it.

