So Shutter Island is another one of those meant-to-go-and-see-it-at-the-cinema-but-had-to-wait-for-the-DVD ones but I thought it was worth waiting for (I seem to be saying that a lot lately). Another movie to add to the growing list of things I think Leonardo Di Caprio is really good in – he is rapidly becoming one of my favourite actors. I say that as someone who has never seen (and does not intend to ever see) Titanic which I must admit put me off him – a bit unfair but hey, them’s the breaks.

But definitely a convert now.

The film is set in the early 1950’s and our boy Leo is a US Marshall called onto Shutter Island with his new partner (played by Mark Ruffalo) to investigate the apparent disappearance of an inmate. For Shutter Island is home to an asylum for the criminally insane and therefore full of murderers and other such types that you wouldn’t want to be trapped with when the lights go off during a major storm. For that is indeed what transpires, and then it all goes a bit scary….

Things loved = Leo as mentioned above; the look of the film, very stylish and actually pretty disturbing in places but more of that anon; the double act that is Ben Kingsley and Max von Sydow; the total overblown-ness of the plot

Things not so loved = can’t decide about the music, I must admit

Rating stuff =15 (contains strong language, bloody injury and disturbing images – some of them really quite disturbing if you think about them too much, but absolutely right in context)

Tissue count = 0

Safety cushion = within easy reach but not actually picked up on this occasion

Well, I really liked this if it’s possible to like a psychological thrillery horror film, basically Scorsese’s high class version of a Hammer Horror (not that there is anything wrong with that at all).

Even knowing what the outcome is I would still happily watch it again.

