So this is another one of those movies that’s been on the shelf for eons, and just shows the value of “Sunday Night is Film Night” chez Bride because I’m getting to catch up with all of these great films so my friends will not look at me with the whole “call yourself a film buff” pitying look that I am probably imagining now that I come to think of it. They’re likely just suffering from indigestion.

Anyway, Good Night and Good Luck was a Book God pick and came on day 3 of a long weekend which had seen us watch a Tarantino war movie and a comic book adaptation, and was a very different proposition altogether. But no less enjoyable for all that.

Ed Murrow takes on Senator McCarthy and wins. It’s interesting to watch this as a non-American because while I can understand intellectually what it must have been like to be employed in public service, the arts and the military during a period where your whole life might be questioned in terms of your patriotism, I can only imagine what it must have felt like. It’s a bit like conversations we had with our tour guide in Spain when he was explaining what life was like for his parents under Franco; the stories are terrible but because it happened somewhere else it can seem a little remote. Which is a very garbled way of saying something not terribly profound, but hopefully you’ll get my drift.

But of course the whole point of films like this is to explain it to those that weren’t there, presumably in the hope that we can all spot it the next time someone tries this sort of thing.

I liked the fact that McCarthy himself wasn’t portrayed by an actor, it strengthened for me that he was caught out by his own words. i thought that David Strathairn was really excellent as Murrow (the only other time I think I’ve seen Murrow portrayed was by Daniel J Travanti (where is he now?) in a TV mini-series ages and ages ago). It has an absolutely fabulous cast acting at their peak. Loved Ray Wise, have a special place in my heart for Frank Langella since he played Dracula in 1979, and the music was absolutely wonderful. And I haven’t even mentioned Mr Downey Jr.

And then there’s Mr Clooney himself. What can I say, handsome and intelligent and makes great films. Sigh.

And fabulous to see a modern black & white film that works so well.

