Ooooh, I liked this one a lot. I know that it doesn’t have a huge amount to do with Asimov’s stories apart from using his three laws of robotics to drive the plot, but it was great fun.

So, in I,Robot, Will Smith is police detective with a major hang-up about our robotic friends, which is kind of a pity considering that they are absolutely everywhere. He’s so suspicious of them that it gets in the way of him doing his job, until, that is, the scientist in charge of the robotics programme apparently chucks himself out of  a window (which is very, very, very high up) on the eve of a new robotic model being released into every home.

He leaves a message for our Will implying there is more to this than meets the eye, and soon Sonny, a robot who seems to be evolving feelings, is his main suspect.

But of course it’s not that simple.

Conspiracies within conspiracies, bad guys who aren’t bad guys but are they really, and humanity being threatened by the very machines they had designed to serve them; great stuff.  If you like this kind of movie then this is the kind of movie you will like. And I do, so I did.

It also looks great; particularly loved the designs for the robots (more iRobot than “I, Robot”, if you catch my drift); I so want me one of them.

Not hugely demanding but great sci-fi for a Sunday night slumped in front of the TV, which sounds a bit bleh but honestly, I thought it was great and more importantly it was exactly what I needed.

