I am a huge fan of M R James and have long enjoyed the BBC adaptations of his stories which are traditionally shown at Christmas. They were mostly made in the 1960s, I think, and were very atmospheric. The most famous, I suppose, was “Whistle and I’ll Come to You” directed in 1968 by Jonathan Miller, a very influential piece of drama which starred Michael Hordern.

So influential, and repeated so often on TV, that I wondered why anyone would want to make a new version, and debated whether I wanted to watch it or not.

But its star was John Hurt and what is Christmas Eve without a ghost story? So I gave it a go and was rewarded by a very unsettling piece of TV. Creepy, atmospheric, a modern setting with modern preoccupations (age, memory, loneliness etc.). Very well acted.

But not MR James – no whistle in sight. It would be great if someone would do a proper Edwardian setting of the story as it was written, just to see what it would be like.

Still, very glad I watched it.

