I had heard lots of really good things about this film and had intended to go and see it on the big screen but life got in the way as so often happens and I had to wait for the DVD release.

Someone (and I wish I could remember who it was as I’d like to credit them – may even have been the director himself – who knows, memory like a sieve) described the film thusly: if Independence Day was 9/11 than Monsters is Afghanistan (I do hope I’ve remembered that correctly; I’m sure someone will put me right if I haven’t).

So, plot thing = half of Mexico is quarantined because it has been infected by alien lifeforms which escaped from a returning space probe which crashed, the aliens have a sort of migrating season which makes them a bit rampage-prone and a young woman is injured during one of these incidents; a journalist working for her dad is tasked with getting her home by ship before the country shuts down, but this doesn’t work and they end up having to trek through the infected zone to get home.

This is a great film, largely because it isn’t really a monster movie but a proper road movie where two people who don’t really know each other have to rely on working together to get back to where they need to be. And of course they become close, which is all the more interesting to watch when you know that the actors are a couple in real life.

I thought it was very realistic, given that there are aliens in the background; you could have set it in any war-torn country and got the same messages across, but the external threat thing adds more to the examination of how people behave in extreme situations.

This was a low-budget film but it doesn’t show, and if its true that the director, Gareth Edwards, did most of the special effects on a computer in his bedroom (that might be an exaggeration) then he did a fantastic job because I thought the aliens were magnificent.

And let’s face it, any film whose lead actor is called Scoot is bound to be fabulous.

So, definitely one to be watched again.

