So I had a quick drink with Silvery Dude before I went on holiday and we had a good old natter about films, and in particular those films that I have not seen (this largely to do with the shock felt by some friends and colleagues when they discovered that I hadn’t seen Fight Club until recently). This led to the creation of a new project: films to see before I’m 51, a personal selection by His Silveriness.

So between 1 November 2011 and 30 January 2013 I have to try to watch the following – and this is the order in which  I’ve been instructed to watch them, a celluloid compilation tape if you will:

  1. The Last Samurai* – starring The Cruiser (my guilty pleasure)
  2. Breaking Away* – cycling
  3. Night on Earth – taxis
  4. True Romance – Cage & Arquette
  5. American Beauty* – a classic which I’m ashamed not to have seen
  6. Big Fish* – Tim Burton, yay
  7. Cinema Paradiso – oh dear, another hanging one’s head situation
  8. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off – ditto, but for different reasons
  9. Cars* – not sure why I haven’t watched this, the only Pixar not viewed so far
  10. The Transporter – Jason Statham!
  11. Crash* – not the Cronenberg one (which I saw largely because the Daily Mail told me I shouldn’t, this is the one that stopped two films I liked from winning an Oscar)
  12. Unforgiven* -the Book God will be pleased
  13. The Big Lebowski – no excuses for this one
  14. I’ve Loved You So Long* – the lovely Kristen
  15. Les amants du Pont-Neuf* – romantic, apparently
  16. King Lear – the Laurence Olivier one
  17. Merry Christmas Mister Lawrence – Bowie
  18. Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy – I’ve avoided this because I have the books, records, radio shows and fondly remember the TV series

Those with asterisks are films I already have in my possession but just haven’t got around to watching yet.

