There was no way that I was going to miss seeing this one. There had been a lot of chatter online and hints were dropped about how awesome it might be, with Joss Wheedon involved (I’m still a massive Buffy fan), the classic young people in peril plot and mutterings of something different and startling in how the story is handled

And then, of course, there’s Bradley. I have been a worshipper since the early days of West Wing, I own the boxed set of Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip (cruelly snatched away from us in its prime) and of course there is his small but pivotal role in The Mentalist. But I digress.

It’s actually going to be quite hard to write about Cabin in the Woods because what makes it so interesting is the stuff you wouldn’t want to know about before going in; the fun would be in seeing how everything is played out. Some have said that people should even avoid the trailer because it gives too much away, but that’s quite difficult when you are sitting in your local multiplex with the thing blaring out at you.

So, I had picked up on this movie slowly over a number of weeks, the cast (see above) looked interesting and I am slightly ashamed to say that I bullied the Book God into going along with me, because (1) you really shouldn’t see a horror film on your own in the cinema – in your home on a sunny afternoon, yes, but alone  in a dark space filled with people you don’t know, definitely not; and (2) he hates this sort of film so had to be persuaded. But bless him, he came with me, stuck it out and we even had quite an intelligent conversation at the end of it.

But the outcome of that conversation was inconclusive. I do not know what to think about this film. It’s been weeks and I still can’t decide whether I absolutely loved it or whether I am a bit “meh” about the whole thing. It is clever, funny, has all the stuff you would expect, all done exceedingly well.

And yet.

Let me give you a for instance. There’s a scene towards the end of the film where there is just so much going on that it is totally visually overwhelming and may have fried my brain. It’s possibly cold and manipulative. It’s possibly too clever for its own good. It’s also very possibly one of the best horror films in ages with loads of in-jokes and stuff for those who are horror geeks.

I may never want to see it again.

I may buy it on DVD as soon as it is released, just to enjoy how it looks and to freeze frame some of the cool stuff.

Perhaps the reason I feel like this is because I knew slightly too much about it before I saw it; as I said earlier, one to go into cold if you possibly can. But you should see it even if only to experience the event-movie side of it, because it does make a splash.

But ooh, I wish I could make up my mind whether I actually LIKED it or not!

