We meant to go and see Hugo in the cinema but as so often happens life and stuff got in the way so we never made it. DVD was duly purchased and sat on the (quite significant) to be watched pile until Silvery Dude mentioned that he had seen it and thought we would enjoy it. So we sat down on the early spring Bank Holiday to watch it and I am very glad we did.

Hugo is a young orphaned boy living in the walls of a station in Paris where he has taken over responsibility for making sure the clocks are all kept to time. He is trying to repair a mysterious automaton left by his father and falls foul of an elderly man who has a curio stall in the station and from whom he has been stealing. Hugo befriends the old man’s granddaughter and they work together to solve the mystery.

I will confess that for the first part of the film I was quite worried that I wasn’t engaged with the story. I thought the setting of the 1930s was beautifully rendered, the station in particular a real delight. I’m not sure when exactly it clicked with me but I began to really become involved in the story and was willing Hugo to succeed.

As you will probably know Hugo’s quest brings him into contact with Melies, one of the pioneers of early cinema, and this element of the story was the thing that really resonated with me – what a wonderful time it must have been and Scorsese’s love for the history of film really shines through.

The cast is excellent, especially Ben Kingsley and the young leads, and there are some brilliant cameos from Sacha Baron Cohen and the wonderful Christopher Lee. It’s a real visual spectacle and a lovely story. I keep meaning to seek out the graphic novel on which its based, but not quite got that far!

