What IMDB said:

A filmmaker recalls his childhood, when he fell in love with the movies at his village’s theater and formed a deep friendship with the theater’s projectionist.

Why Silvery Dude thought I should watch this:

Cinema Paradiso is a classic. The boy is beautiful, the central music theme won’t leave you and it appeals to those who love cinema, as well as to those with a fine (and unflinching) sense of whimsy for days of youth.

Such a treat to see for the first time

My thoughts on seeing the film:

I was actually quite nervous about watching this because I know that so many people adore it and I could see one of those “what do you mean you didn’t like it” conversations coming up but thankfully although I had a slow start and felt a bit meh about the whole thing, once the little boy got older I found it enjoyable and by the end I had fallen in love with it a little bit. But it was touch and go for a while.

Silvery Dude and I will have to agree to disagree about the beauty of the little boy (even though he is the logo for my challenge) as I wasn’t won over by him at all (full disclosure – Silvery Dude has three little boys and I have no children so make of that what you will) and even the old man left me cold at times.

For me the interest in the film was the beauty of the setting, the love of cinema and the wonderful cast of supporting characters that brought it to life. And the framing device set in the (then) modern-day, especially our hero’s visit home to his mother which I thought had some really touching moments.

So yes I can see why so many regard this as a classic and I am glad to have finally seen it.

This is my fourth film in my Films to Watch before I’m 51 personal challenge.

