255171_10151164885843716_970285203_nStar Trek Into Darkness was one of my most-anticipated films of 2013 (there is only one that I am (so far) more excited about and I’ll be blogging about that very soon), partly because I wanted to see what JJ Abrams (who I have a lot of time for as a huge fan of Alias and Fringe) would do with a second outing after his reboot of the franchise (which I loved as you can see here), and partly because of the presence of Benedict Cumberbatch who has a capacity to make me swoon that is only matched by David Tennant. But enough of this hormonal nonsense, what you want to know is whether it lived up to expectations.

Well, of course it did. I used to watch the original series with my Dad but was never so immersed in it that I couldn’t enjoy the later incarnations (though Voyager was meh and I didn’t really give Enterprise a chance despite liking Scott Bakula) and I haven’t had the problems with the Abrams’ films that some fanboys have had. The scripts have been great fun, the casting excellent and I don’t even mind Simon Pegg’s Scottish accent, given how awful the original Scotty was in that department. I can even live with the lens flare which I now look for in everything Abrams touches.

In terms of Into Darkness, Cumberbatch was brilliant, just perfectly cast as the individual that everyone probably now knows he is but I’m not going to say just in case. I’m sure I wasn’t supposed to be rooting for the bad guy but I sort of kind of was. I liked the references to the earlier films and the character role-reversals worked for me thought here were a couple of “really?” moments, but come on, this is the kind of sci-fi film that you really shouldn’t think about too much afterwards, just go along for the ride, and what a ride it is. Loved it and it will be purchased as soon as the DVD appears.

For a  more thoughtful review you should head over to Carl’s site.

