Red EyeRed Eye is another one of those films which I’ve been aware of for ages and occasionally thought “I should really watch that, it looks like it might be fun” only to forget abut it entirely until the next time something came along to jog my memory. Last time that happened I actually got around to buying a copy which then sat on the shelf for a bit before the Book God and I needed to find an undemanding movie to watch one Saturday evening, and lo and behold there it was.

What does IMDb say?

A woman is kidnapped by a stranger on a routine flight. Threatened by the potential murder of her father, she is pulled into a plot to assist her captor in offing a politician.

The woman is Rachel McAdams, a very efficient hotel manager type person who is flying home after a family funeral. The stranger is Cillian Murphy, handsome and charming and totally ruthless. Her father is Brian Cox (one of my favourite actors and IMHO the best Hannibal Lecter – well, until Mads Mikkelsen came along). The plot is dead straightforward; Cillian coerces Rachel into changing the arrangements for a politician staying at her hotel so that he can be bumped off. She of course turns out to have hidden resources of which Cillian knows nothing and it all goes a bit pear-shaped for him, especially once the plane lands. Will she save her dad and the politician? Will Cillian get his comeuppance?

What do you think?

This was a very efficient little thriller by Wes Craven with some likeable characters and a pretty decent bad guy. I was mildly annoyed by the ending but not so much that it ruined the film for me and I won’t go into it here for the purposes of spoiler avoidance.

But, you know, why couldn’t it have been Rachel that did the thing?

