71GYVBDW09L._SL1276_What do our friends at IMDb think it’s about?

As an asteroid nears Earth, a man finds himself alone after his wife leaves in a panic. He decides to take a road trip to reunite with his high school sweetheart. Accompanying him is a neighbour who inadvertently puts a wrench in his plan.

What do I think it’s about?

So the earth is going to be hit by an asteroid and Steve Carrell’s wife dumps him (I don’t think panic has anything to do with it, I think she was just horrible) and as the world is falling apart he decides to try to find his childhood sweetheart and tell her what she means to him. Due to a series of misadventures Keira Knightly (for it is she) ends up tagging along and he decides to help her try to get back to her family in the UK before its too late.

Of course what it’s really about is loneliness and loss and regret and grief and the transcendent power of love. But that might just be me (sentimental old fool that I am).

Why did I want to see it?

I seem to have missed Seeking a Friend for the End of the World when it came out last year, but it popped up on my radar for reasons I cannot now recall, and then Silvery Dude said it was wonderful and I would love it. Had to give it a go after that.

What did I think (featuring best and/or worst bits)?

You need to understand that I was at a bit of a low ebb and the Book God was away at a thing, so I watched a rental of this with takeaway Thai food and fizzy white wine curled up on my own on the sofa on a very quiet Saturday night. I was vulnerable. I sobbed for the last 20 minutes and a good quarter of an hour after that. I adored it. I adored it so much I immediately ordered my own copy because this is a keeper.

The leads are brilliant. Keira could have been annoyingly kooky but she never crossed that line. I spent the whole film wanting to give Carell a hug. There were some brilliant cameos from Connie Britton and William Peteresen *sigh* and especially Martin Sheen. I saw the end coming a mile off but I didn’t care. It was perfect. If you watch this and don’t cry there is no hope for you at all.

Conclusion

At the risk of repeating myself, I absolutely adored this. If I was re-doing my Desert Island Films it would be on the list, near the top. I have already recommended it to two people. I have allowed Silvery Dude to be smug because he recommended it to me. This is how much I liked it.

If you don’t think this is fabulous then we have nothing to say to each other.

