MV5BMjAzMzI5OTgzMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTU5MTAwMDE@._V1_SX214_What do out friends at IMDb think it’s about?

Young Ender Wiggin is recruited by the International Military to lead the fight against the Formics, a genocidal alien race which nearly annihilated the human race in a previous invasion.

What do I think it’s¬†about?

An adaptation of a very popular science fiction novel by the no longer so popular Orson Scott Card, Ender’s Game tells the story of, well, Ender’s Game. Which is a set of war games designed to train the next generation of military leaders after Earth was attacked by alien bug-type nasties, an assault which we only survived through the heroism of one individual. It’s all gone quiet but we are getting ready for a future attack on the get them before they get us principle.

Why did I want to see it?

I’ve heard so much about the book but had never read it and I was intrigued to see the film because I thought it looked really good from the trailer. And there was a bit of me that was determined to see something that people were telling me I shouldn’t (more of that anon).

What did I think (featuring best and/or worst bits)?

I think Asa Butterfield is really very good indeed; I loved him in Hugo and he has such a distinctive look that my eye was drawn to him whenever he was on screen, even when he was sharing said screen with crusty old Harrison Ford, looking pained at what he was putting these kids though, though of course still forging ahead because it all needs to be done. Even though it doesn’t. The cast were uniformly good, the special effects were excellent and having gone in with no preconceptions I enjoyed it. I deeply dislike the personal views of the author, but this was the work of a number of people and didn’t seem to endorse or reflect his views in any way. I understand why some people felt they needed to avoid this but like I said before, I really don’t like being told what I should think about something, an attitude which has led to some unfortunate experiences (sitting through the tediousness that is Cronenberg’s Crash a case in point, and due entirely to the Daily Mail)

Conclusion

Ender’s Game should have done better at the box office but everyone seemed a bit embarrassed by the whole Scott Card problem and it wasn’t properly publicised. A smart film trying to say something about the impact of a military society on young people. As others have said it has echoes of Starship Troopers (without that film’s gleeful destruction of monstrous bugs and the inclusion of Doogie Howser as a fascist). But you can’t have everything.

