MV5BNjE5MzYwMzYxMF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTk4MTk0OQ@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_What do our friends at IMDb think this is about?

A medical engineer and an astronaut work together to survive after an accident leaves them adrift in space.

What do I think it’s about?

I scorn the person who wrote this so-called blurb thing on IMDb. Gravity is about the triumph of the spirit, the will to survive, grief and loss and human ingenuity. And the fact that Sandra Bullock is truly awesome. And proves that a female character can carry a film. And that space is cool. Dangerous, clearly, but undoubtedly cool. And that it’s possible for me to sit and watch a 3D film and feel that the resulting headache was totally worth it.

Why did I want to see it?

I refer the honourable gentleperson to the answer I gave previously.

What did I think?

Setting aside all the hype this was a really astonishing film. Of course the dialogue could have been “deeper” (if that’s even a thing) but I agree with what Mark Kermode (I think) said – this was quite a simple “what if” idea taken to its logical conclusion, was exactly as long as it needed to be with mesmerising visuals and a fabulous performance from the lovely Sandra. Clooney wasn’t half bad either, the old smoothie. I was totally absorbed and I will admit that I cried (a bit). Definitely needs to be seen on the big screen at least once. And some people are reading too much into the thing that happened when she was at her lowest ebb; nothing patriarchal about it, it’s just a plot device people! She did it all by herself!

Conclusion

Stirring gosh wow stuff. Sandra just better get a nomination, that’s all I’m saying.

