thor_the_dark_worldWhat do our friends at IMDb think this is about?

Faced with an enemy that even Odin and Asgard cannot withstand, Thor must embark on his most perilous and personal journey yet, one that will reunite him with Jane Foster and force him to sacrifice everything to save us all

What do I think it’s about?

Not a bad synopsis there, but of course we all know that this is really all about the sibling rivalry between *sigh* Thor and *even bigger sigh* Loki, none of this Jane Foster nonsense, she’s just a thing. A nice thing, admittedly, but like I say this is all about the bromance.

Why did I want to see it?

Loki, of course. And OK, yes, I loved the first one and also loved Avengers Assemble and think Chris Hemsworth is pretty cool (I submit as evidence that Snow White movie with the the sulky Twiglet girl and the fabulous Cabin in the Woods). Was. Not. Going. To. Miss. This.

What did I think of it?

Hugely enjoyable. Yes it’s a big dumb superhero movie but as well as all the demigod shenanigans it’s very funny and in addition to the boy Hiddleston stealing every scene he is in we also have *gasp* Idris Elba. And Asgard looked brilliant and yes, OK, Natalie Portman was very good and wow look what they did to Greenwich (though honestly you cannot get there from there on the Tube, trust me). It needed more Christopher Ecclestone obvs but other than that no complaints at all.

Conclusion

I was very happy indeed. Marvel are playing a blinder at the moment. The Winter Soldier up next. Exciting.

