Desolation of SmaugWhat do our friends at IMDb think it’s about?

The dwarves, along with Bilbo Baggins and Gandalf the Grey, continue their quest to reclaim Erebor, their homeland, from Smaug. Bilbo Baggins is in possession of a mysterious and magical ring.

What do I think it’s about?

It’s about 3 hours long.

Oh and all of that stuff up there as well.

And the sexiest dragon ever invented.

Why did I want to see it?

It’s Tolkien. It’s the chance to see Bilbo develop his relationship with the Ring. It’s got a dragon in it.  And a kick-ass lady elf.

What did I think?

I really enjoyed The Desolation of Smaug (which autocorrect keeps on wanting to turn into the Desolation of Smug, not far wrong in some respects) but then I am definitely in the target audience being a sucker for all things Tolkien. I’m not one of those who has been muttering about how could they possibly take such a slim book and spin it out to 3 x 3 hour movies. I like the spectacle. I like the dwarves. I want to see portrayed on the screen all the stuff that just gets referred to in the book. I think Martin Freeman is brilliant, I think Richard Armitage is pretty cool as a dwarf, and Smaug is simply a triumph (and not just because he is voiced by the bloke Cumberbatch).I liked Tauriel but didn’t see the point of the romance, she was very effective being a elvish role model without any of that nonsense.

All in all very satisfying, but two small quibbles – the ending is very abrupt and overly cliffhangery and there was insufficient Beorn for my liking.

Conclusion

I would like to think this is a film that any fan of good fantasy would enjoy, but suspect it’s one for the Tolkien completists. Will definitely be getting it on DVD.

