wreckitralph2012dvdWhat do IMDb and I agree that this is about?

A video game villain wants to be a hero and sets out to fulfill his dream, but his quest brings havoc to the whole arcade where he lives.

Pretty spot-on for once.

Why did I want to see it?

I’m a great fun of good animation, and I had seen some clips of this and thought it looked cool. Good voice cast and the promise of a story that was a wee bit different, while still no doubt having an appropriate lesson for us all underneath the humour and bright colours.

What did I think of it?

This is a lovely film with a strong story and great voices and is also very funny. The moral isn’t too preachy and Ralph is still Wreck-it Ralph at the end, though of course he learns something about himself (and not about knowing his place which I feared this might be mostly about).

In fact all of the characters grow without changing too much. I was particularly fond of Calhoun, coping with the most tragic backstory ever-invented. Spotted who the bad guy might be just before the Big Reveal which is the right time to guess these things IMHO, not too early to soil the film but early enough to allow an air of faint satisfaction.

Conclusion

This is just great. My inner 5 year old was very happy indeed.

