MV5BMjA4MDQwODg2NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTc5ODc2OA@@._V1_SX214_What’s it all about?

Hansel & Gretel are bounty hunters who track and kill witches all over the world. As the fabled Blood Moon approaches, the siblings encounter a new form of evil that might hold a secret to their past.

Why did I want to watch it?

I asked for Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters on my Christmas list a year ago as I thought it looked like great fun, despite what can only be described as iffy reviews. And thus it appeared. Watched it today because we wanted something light and nonsense for Sunday evening viewing. It was either this or Apocalypto (which will come at some point I’m sure).

What did I think of it?

Well, it’s not a film that’s going to challenge your brain cells too much, that’s for sure. In fact it’s absolute tosh, but it is fun and undemanding . You could see the various plot points (such as they are) coming at you a mile off but that didn’t really matter, because the setting was nicely steampunk and the cast looked like they were enjoying themselves and it was all a bit of a giggle. Famke Janssen was a great baddie, and I still can’t decide about Jeremy Renner but Gemma Arterton is fabulous (I think she’s just wonderful, if you haven’t seen Byzantium then you must).

Much more sweary than your traditional fairytale but about as bloody as the originals were. Was never going to win any awards but I liked it.

