MV5BMTg0NTgxMjIxOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDM0MDY1OQ@@._V1_SX214_Zombies have never been a favourite horror thing of mine but they have clearly taken over from vampires and I find myself reading a lot of zombie-focused books these days, but the films, well that’s a different matter. I’m not always good with gore. Often, just not always.

What’s World War Z all about?

Let’s turn to our friends at IMDb:

United Nations employee Gerry Lane traverses the world in a race against time to stop the Zombie pandemic that is toppling armies and governments, and threatening to destroy humanity itself.

If I was a person who quibbles I would point out that he is a former UN employee but I try very hard not to be that person. Though I usually fail.

Why did I want to see it?

Well I read the source novel a few years ago (you can find the review here on my other blog) and Silvery Dude started watching it but only made it through the first twenty minutes (far be it from me to suggest he might be a wuss), though his description made it sound very cool. And it was a sunny Saturday, ripe for horror even of the slick and not too grungy sort.

So what did I think of it?

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.  It bears only a superficial resemblance to the source material but that was always going to be the case, and it was a bit disconcerting seeing George Square in Glasgow pretending to be Philadelphia given that I used to walk through there twice a day on my way too and from uni.

I liked the way the film just launched into the story without the usual disaster movie setting up of character back story so you can worry about which ones are not going to make it. There were some very nice jumpy moments and it moved at a cracking pace. Brad Pitt is as always a personable screen presence, believable as a UN worker and good at the whole compassion thing. The zombies are pretty cool and they swarm effectively, and the world gets saved from Cardiff (well, nearby anyway). Nice cameo from Peter Capaldi reminding us all just how sinister he can look without really trying (and he’s one of the good guys). Very enjoyable.

But *whispers* the book is better, go read it.

