MV5BMTcyNzk4Nzg4N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTkxMDI2MDEWhat’s it all about?

Well, we all sort of know the story of Noah, don’t we? Flood to wash the world clean, building of the ark, animals 2 x 2, dove, rainbow as covenant, that sort of thing. Or as IMDb puts it:

A man is chosen by his world’s creator to undertake a momentous mission to rescue the innocent before an apocalyptic flood cleanses the wicked from the world.

Why did I want to see this?

Well, I didn’t originally, but then I saw the trailer on a couple of visits to the cinema and it looked intriguing and I have developed a bit of a soft spot for Darren Aronofsky after seeing Black Swan, The Fountain and Requiem for a Dream (click the links for my thoughts on those). The clincher though was hearing him interviewed by Simon Mayo and when asked what he fought of the reaction from those who felt he had departed from the biblical story basically said he didn’t care, and I really liked that. He also came across as an OK guy generally, thoughtful about what he’s doing with his films. So off we went to see it in 2D on an IMAX screen.

What did I think of it?

What a hoot! The word used by a couple of reviewers was bonkers and that seems about right but in a good way. It bears only a passing resemblance to anything I was taught in Sunday School. The stuff that’s there is the flood to get rid of the nastiness of the world, the building of the ark, the whole animals arriving thing (which I thought was pretty impressive), the dove with the olive branch and a rather pretty rainbow at the end.

What was different was really different. Noah as madman, Methuselah being Welsh (well, Hopkins playing Methuselah being Welsh), the Nephilim as stone giant things, the ecological message, the very fashionable antediluvian clothing (including an early version of Uggs), and quite a lot of tinkering around with Noah’s family dynamic.

I can take or leave Russell Crowe but he is right for this part, rugged and driven and with a nice variety of hairdos. Loved both Jennifer Connolly and Emma Watson (though I was told off for referring to part of the plot as the Gladiator being horrible to Hermione), and the whole thing looks fabulous. At the time I thought I probably wouldn’t want to see this again viewing it as a bit of a curiosity but it has stuck with me and I may be tempted to have another look.

More of a sci-fi apocalyptic disaster film than a traditional biblical epic and worth seeing for that reason alone.

