IMG_0379What does IMDB think this is about?

A scientist’s drive for artificial intelligence, takes on dangerous implications when his consciousness is uploaded into one such program.

Technically correct though misses out all of the character stuff but what can you expect from a single sentence.

Why did I want to see it?

I refer my honourable readers to my last post on this blog way back in April after my first failed attempt to see this film (I seem to be doing that a lot recently, so far two missed screenings of Maleficent and still haven’t seen it, but I digress).

What did I think of it?

Since I wrote the post on missing Transcendence I have read/heard a couple of reviews (Mark Kermode amongst others) saying that it wasn’t as bad as everyone said, that we would all come to look at it in a couple of years time and recognise it as a good film, that the director deserved kudos for trying something a wee bit different and so on.

So I went. And I did enjoy it. It’s not without its flaws (and of course you can say that about most films) but I thought it worked pretty well. Depp was fine playing an ordinary (if deeply intelligent and visionary) person, for once not a caricature of any kind, but the heart of the film for me was the combination of Rebecca Hall as his wife and Paul Bettany as their best friend who have to deal with the fall out of the Unfortunate Event and whether just because you can do something (load your dying friend’s consciousness into an AI doodah) means that you should do that something. And the answer here is of course that you shouldn’t, unintended consequences, end of the world as we know it and so on.

It is a fabulous looking film and it does try to deal with some of the genuine issues around new technologies and what they might mean for us all and do we really understand the implications, even if it does fall into a classic “how do we stop the monster” plot.

But worth seeing and I suspect that I will watch it again after a gap to see if it does stand up.

