IMG_0087Which I keep on wanting to call Days of Future Passed for some obscure and no doubt psychologically significant reason. But enough of that.

What’s it all about?

The X-Men send Wolverine to the past in a desperate effort to change history and prevent an event that results in doom for both humans and mutants.

That’s it in a nutshell

Why did I want to see it?

I refer you to my review of X-Men: First Class which tells you more than you want to know probably about what I think of the X-Men. Basically, I liked that one and was pretty sure (with reservations) that I’d like this one too.

What did I think of it?

I really enjoyed it. I think Days of Future Past might actually be better than First Class because the potentially annoying origin stuff was moved aside neatly and we dove? dived? into the fallout from the earlier movie, Magneto in prison, Xavier not handling things all that well, Mystique on the loose and so on. But events in the future mean that Wolverine is sent back to stop something happening, or make sure something slightly different happens or something like that, but you know that’s just an excuse to get lots of cool actors who haven’t really been on screen together as these characters before to dress up in cool (being ironic, though possibly in an Alanis Morrisette don’t actually know what it means sort of way) 1970s clothes and save the world from the nasties.

This particular nasty is in the form of not-quite-so-mad-only-trying-to-do-what’s-best-or-is-he scientist Bolivar Trask played wonderfully by the great Tyrion Peter Dinklage with not a single mention of his height (hurrah!).

It scoots along very nicely indeed; Hugh Jackman is always great value as Wolverine and McAvoy and Fassbender fill the Stewart/McKellen shoes well, and of course Jennifer Lawrence is fabulous whether blue or not.

My favourite bit = Quicksilver who could have been really annoying but whose main scene turned out to very cool

My main quibble = insufficient Iceman (based entirely on affection for Shawn As more resulting from a mild addiction to The Following

My “what was that all about” moment = the post-credits sequence. I think you would need to be steeped in X-Men lore to understand the importance of that scene. It took me a wee while on Wikipedia to get the background so that I could understand what was going on.

So, very good indeed, looking forward to the next one!

 

