IMG_0088Which I keep on wanting to call The Edge of Tomorrow. There is clearly  a pattern developing in my inability to properly remember film titles.

However….

What’s it all about?

An officer finds himself caught in a time loop in a war with an alien race. His skills increase as he faces the same brutal combat scenarios, and his union with a Special Forces warrior gets him closer and closer to defeating the enemy.

Indeed he does.

Why did I want to see it?

Regular readers will know that I have a huge soft spot for Thomas Cruise Mapother IV. I may have mentioned it more than once as I work my way through his back catalogue, or at least his back catalogue from Interview with the Vampire forwards (I haven’t and don’t intend ever to watch Top Gun), alongside keeping up with his new releases. I even saw Jack Reacher despite fairly lukewarm reviews (you can find out what I thought about it here). The only recent film of his that I have deliberately avoided (as opposed to having missed accidentally) is that Knight and Day thing which just failed to appeal on any level.

But I digress. I really wanted to see this.

That’s all you need to know, really. Oh, you want details? Well…..

What did I think of it?

This was an absolutely brilliant summer blockbuster and I thought it was fantastic, likely to be one of my favourite films of the year. I thought the set-up was very clever, with Cruise playing the smooth advertising executive who isn’t a real solider and doesn’t want to go into combat by referencing his own public persona in what I think (and hope) is a knowing way. He’s actually pretty funny at times, and plays cowardly extremely well. And you really do see proper character development as he relives the same mission over and over again and learns the skills needed to defeat the alien invaders.

I think what elevates this above a standard sic-fi picture with a clever idea is Emily Blunt who trains Cruise and fights alongside him and is in many ways the heart of the film. I don’t think it’s giving anything away to explain that she has been through what Cruise has, no longer experiences it but knows enough to help him get through (its all in the trailers). And she shows the impact of having to watch the people you fight alongside die over and over and over again.

The supporting cast is equally strong, with Bill Paxton really standing out. I have loved him since Aliens and he is of course in my favourite vampire movie (until this year at least) and have been enjoying him chew the scenery in Agents of Shield.

The effects are excellent, and yes, the plot has holes in it but when did a movie like this ever have a totally coherent story, and it is so well done that I really wanted to cheer at the end. Ah yes, the ending. The only slight misstep for me, but to be honest, as someone else said (and I can’t remember who so apologies) it got away with it because of everything that had gone before.

It seems a real shame that Edge of Tomorrow hasn’t done as well in the US as it has overseas, especially given the almost universally positive reviews. It really is worth watching, whether you like Mr Cruise or not. Highly recommended and straight onto my To Buy list.

