how-to-train-your-dragon-poster-poster-2027966073What’s it all about?

A hapless young Viking who aspires to hunt dragons becomes the unlikely friend of a young dragon himself, and learns there may be more to the creatures than he assumed.

Why did I want to watch it?

Dragons. Vikings. Animation. Coming of age. Finding yourself.

Also feeling left out as everyone said how good it was and how good the sequel is and how you can’t really enjoy the second without having seen the first and did I mention dragons?

And feeling guilty because I think the only reason I avoided this was being fed up as it was used in my local Odeon to explain the facilities for those with hearing or sight impairments and I got overkill from seeing the same clip of How to Train…over and over again.

Totally irrational and completely my loss.

Also Silvery Dude gave me that look.

What did I think of it?

Kicking myself that I hadn’t watched it before. Love Hiccup and now want to known as Astrid. Father/son stuff very moving. Thrilled to discover that Gerald Butler is not only King of Sparta but Viking head honcho. Dragon designs very cool, Toothless lovely and Big Bad properly nasty. Beautifully animated and great fun. Emotional without being sickly.

Looking forward to the next one, don’t intend to wait as long.

 

