The_Lego_Movie_posterWhat’s it all about?

An ordinary Lego construction worker, thought to be the prophesied ‘Special’, is recruited to join a quest to stop an evil tyrant from gluing the Lego universe into eternal stasis.

Eternal stasis. Not a phrase you expect to see in the synopsis of a kids’ movie, but what do I know?

Why did I want to watch it?

It’s Lego (and I loved Lego when I was a kid, though still scarred from the limited number of clear bricks which made building a house with appropriately sized windows almost impossible) so what’s not to love? Also, got lots of great reviews and strong word of mouth from friends-with-kids.

And then there’s the song; heard once, imprinted forever.

What did I think of it?

Everything is indeed awesome.

Really enjoyed The Lego Movie, a nice finding your place in the world film, made me think a bit of Wreck-it Ralph (also greatly enjoyed and reviewed over here). It is funny, with jokes for adults tucked neatly in amongst all the kiddie stuff. Giggled a lot at the whole Superman/Green Lantern running gag. Batman also a delight. Moral not overdone. Sure I missed loads of detail so a good excuse to watch it again.

But it is basically the cinematic equivalent of a 90 minute sugar-rush.

Like that’s a bad thing 🙂

