the_grand_budapest_hotelWhat’s it all about?

The adventures of Gustave H, a legendary concierge at a famous Hungarian hotel between the first and second World Wars, and Zero Moustafa, the lobby boy who becomes his most trusted friend.

Oh, and what adventures they are 🙂

Why did I want to watch it?

That’s a very good question. I’ve never really “got” Wes Anderson, and I think this is the first of his films that I’ve actually managed to get to the end of (more of why later). But this just looked so unusual and striking and had an astonishing cast that I couldn’t resist it (and I’m glad that I didn’t).

What did I think of it?

The Grand Budapest Hotel is possibly my new favourite film (well, at least until I re-watch Only Lovers Left Alive which I will, oh yes).

I absolutely adored it, it’s just so clever and sweet and funny and gorgeous to look at. I really didn’t expect to love it so much and I can’t honestly put my finger on why, it’s just the whole package. It’s full of what in other circumstances I would think of as stunt-casting cameos (particularly delighted to see Bob Balaban even if only for what felt like 10 nanoseconds) but somehow it all works. Ralph Fiennes is very funny, and Tony Revolori (whose character grows up to be F Murray Abraham) is just fabulous. And Tilda; unrecognisable, but still glorious.

I don’t always appreciate quirky but somehow it all works here.

It’s frustrating that I don’t really have the words to describe why it’s worth watching, but it was just a complete delight and I know it’s a film I’ll go back to again.

And did I mention that it looks wonderful?

