hanna-poster2What’s it all about?

A sixteen-year-old girl who was raised by her father to be the perfect assassin is dispatched on a mission across Europe, tracked by a ruthless intelligence agent and her operatives.

Why did I want to watch it?

I remember seeing the trailer for this and thinking it looked intriguing, and then having missed it at the cinema I stuck it on my Christmas list for the year it came out on DVD and was indeed given it as a present. And we watched it after such a long time because we were looking for something a little different for a Sunday night’s viewing.

What did I think of it?

I’m not really sure what I was expecting but this turned out to be slightly more unusual than your normal run of the mill thriller. Yes, Hanna is trained as an assassin but there is a very specific purpose behind it all and a complex back story which  develops as you follow Hanna’s progress. it gets a little strange when she meets up with a British family but their involvement brings some welcome lightness, at least for a while and they are quite funny.

Saoirse Ronan is really remarkable as Hanna; I know her blondeness has been heightened for the role but there are times when she really looks otherworldly. The cast is generally very strong, but what was Tom Hollander doing playing a part like that, I was shocked (he was great by the way).

Of course it turns into a you-think-you-know-what-it’s-all-about-but-you-don’t-really tale as what we understand about Hanna’s past turns out to to be true and although we find out the details before she does it’s only slightly ahead of her and I really felt for her in her sadness and confusion.

I particularly liked the ending, especially as the DVD extras include an alternative which I watched because I can’t always resist these things and I think the director made the right decision.

So as I said, a different slant on the hitperson with a mission story and none the worse for that.

