The-Hitchhikers-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-2005-Hindi-dubbed-mobile-movie-poster-1Finally getting around to seeing another in the ongoing list of films Silvery Dude thinks I must watch, this was a difficult one but as it was on TV over the Bank Holiday weekend there was no way I could justifiably avoid it.

Before I get into it there is something you need to understand; I listened to the original H2G2 series, I bought and read all the books (multiple times), I even had the recording on vinyl (somewhere in the cupboard there is a bright red LP with a yellow rubber duck on it) and later on cassette and possibly also on CD. I was a member of a pub quiz team called Followers of the Great Prophet Zarquon. I watched the TV series with its ropy early Dr Who adjacent special effects. I quote it all the time. So it is clear that I will have had Feelings about watching this film.

But first, the usual.

What does IMDb say about this film?

Mere seconds before the Earth is to be demolished by an alien construction crew, journeyman Arthur Dent is swept off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher penning a new edition of “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.”

Why Silvery Dude thought I should watch this?

Why you must watch it?  Because it’s all wrong when compared to the much-loved TV series, and yet it goes further than the TV series into the sequels, the role of Rooster etc.  Marvin is wrong, Ford…there can only ever be one, but the Vogons are brilliant !

What did I think of it?

Well, it turned out not to be as bad as I had feared. But it was a very strange experience; how can something seem so familiar and yet so unfamiliar all at once?

Stream of consciousness follows:

  • the opening song is dreadful and my heart was sinking but hurrah, 15 minutes or so in we have the proper theme tune
  • The Book has always been the best thing and Stephen Fry is a good substitute for the late Peter Jones, and I liked the visualisations
  • I actually quite liked Mos Def, but then I had never been that fond of the TV version of Ford Prefect (he looked a bit like a hamster, which is extremely unfair but what can I say?)
  • It’s (mostly) visually impressive; I really liked the design of Depp Thought and the Heart of Gold in particular
  • I thought Sam Rockwell was absolutely brilliant
  • Marvin shouldn’t be round, it just isn’t right (and I was thrilled to see original Marvin in the background of a later scene)
  • I normally love Martin Freeman but *whispers* I found him mostly annoying as Arthur, only underlined by the real Arthur’s cameo on Magrathea
  • the Vogons are indeed most excellent
  • the words just get lost in it all

So not a disaster, just disappointing. Though it did make me want to read the books for the nine millionth time so that must be a good thing.

This is my sixth film in my Films to Watch because personal challenge. FTWBI51

