Big-fish-movie-posterWhat does IMDb say about this film?

A son tries to learn more about his dying father by reliving stories and myths he told about his life.

Why Silvery Dude thought I should watch this?

Parents…love ’em, find them infuriating, no matter, this captures it.

What did I think of it? Big Fish was a film I had always intended to watch. I missed it in the cinema for reasons I can’t quite remember but whatever happened I didn’t try hard enough to see it, which is surprising because it has a lot of features which are way up on my list of Things That Normally Attract Me To A Film, namely

  • Tim Burton directed
  • Danny Elfman did the music
  • Helena Bonham-Carter is in it *fangirl squee*

Plus of course added Obi-Wan I mean Ewan McGregor. And I bought the DVD as soon as it came out (I actually think it may have been a Christmas gift way back in, wow, was it really that long ago?) And then it sat on the shelf until now, because I think I got a bit nervous about watching it in case I was disappointed. Which, of course, I wasn’t. At all. So Ed Bloom is a man who has told stories about his past as far back as his son Will can remember, and it has caused real estrangement between them as all the important events in Will’s life seem to have been overshadowed by everyone hanging on his father’s every word. But Ed is dying and Will has come home to support his mother of course, but also to try to get the truth from his father. Which of course he fails to do, or at least not directly, but as we see the stories come (very entertainingly) to life Will dissevers that they aren’t the total pack of lies that he had thought. I am so glad that I finally watched this, it’s a lovely film, really heartwarming but with a nicely odd and whimsical and slightly Gothic sensibility, showing what Burton can do when he uses the grotesque to illuminate the details of the story rather than overwhelm it (I may love Burton but I’m not blind to his faults; I’ve never been able to watch his Planet of the Apes film for a start). It’s beautifully cast and well-acted and gets to the truth of how maddening our parents can be but how little we really know about them and how much we will miss them when they’re gone. I spent the last 20 minutes in tears, but that’s a good thing, honestly. And it’s visually stunning. Loved it and glad that another film is not only knocked off the list but I can look the Silvery One in the eye and rate this as a success.

This is my seventh film in my Films to Watch because personal challenge. FTWBI51

