IMG_0158What’s it all about?

A team of international astronauts are sent on a dangerous mission to reignite the dying Sun with a nuclear fission bomb in 2057.

Why did I want to watch it?

This is actually a revisit to a movie I saw when it was in cinemas in 2007 and I loved so much that I bought the DVD as soon as it was released. Then nothing happened until I saw a bit of it while flicking through the TV channels a week or so ago and just had to watch it again.

I had forgotten just how unsettlingly good it was.

What did I think of it?

Well, I’m very pleased to say that Sunshine more than stood up to a second watching and I think will definitely have a place on my films-I-watch-every-so-often list (that’s not a very long list and now that I come to think of it is currently only in my head, I really should do something about that….). As I said above, I had forgotten exactly what it was like in terms of atmosphere; I had a memory that it started off like a conventional sci-fi saving-the-world movie and then spiralled into horror but actually it is really creepy right from the very beginning.

I had also forgotten what a brilliant cast it had; I am becoming quite fond of Cillian Murphy and although he is in his more heroic mode here (and as I said here, I think I prefer him when he’s being nasty) he is by no means pleasant and makes a couple of pretty key decisions which contribute to the situation they all find themselves in. I think it was also the first time that I saw Chris Evans play dark – previous exposure had largely been to his appearance in the Fantastic Four movie, and he is excellent here. And I’d completely forgotten about Rose Byrne being in this at all.

Stand-out for me is obviously Mark Strong; I love him so, and although he isn’t on screen that much he is hugely effective when he does appear, and of course, that voice.

It is a film that owes a lot to movies that went before it, especially Event Horizon which I also loved and haven’t seen for years, but Boyle doesn’t hide (and indeed I think revels in) connections with what’s gone before, and that has resulted in a stylish and compelling and very creepy film. If you haven’t watched it do give it a try, it’s great!

