1390678115298sWhat’s it all about?

A rescue crew investigates a spaceship that disappeared into a black hole and has now returned…with someone or something new on-board.

Which makes all sound so benign, when what we actually need is this description of the storyline from Losman (also on IMDb):

In the year 2047 a group of astronauts are sent to investigate and salvage the long lost starship “Event Horizon”. The ship disappeared mysteriously 7 years before on its maiden voyage and with its return comes even more mystery as the crew of the “Lewis and Clark” discover the real truth behind its disappearance and something even more terrifying.

The word terrifying is an important clue to what we’re dealing with here.

Why did I want to watch it?

I saw this when it originally came out back in 1997 (which explains why the whole cast but particularly Laurence Fishburne all look so young) and I decided to watch it again after seeing and reviewing Sunshine recently, as Event HorizonH is definitely one of the influences not that movie. And also it’s a horror film in space and would fit in with the Peril on the Screen challenge for RIP IX.

What did I think of it?

It holds up pretty well considering that it was never that great a movie in the first place. Don’t get me wrong, I always liked it but there was a lot of stuff at the time about how the version released wasn’t what the one director wanted, that the gory stuff was toned down and that explains why the film is at times a bit incoherent and disjointed. However, if you want a film that is claustrophobic and scary and full of jumps then this definitely works. Though I personally find the end slightly annoying.

Apart from how young everyone looks (I may have mentioned that already) there are two things that I learned from re-watching this film:

  • never trust Sam Neill when he is being charming but patronising as this is clearly hiding a fanatical streak
  • Jason Isaacs is not your go-to person for translations from the Latin (to be fair he was under some stress at the time, but still….)

I watched this on a Saturday afternoon on my own as it was getting dark with no lights on and it certainly freaked me out. Can’t say fairer than that.

This was my second watch for Peril on the Screen.

ripnineperilscreen

