Interstellar-poster-600x889I’m going to try to do this spoiler-free because, as I said to one of my friends, you’ll get the most out of this movie by knowing as little as possible about it before you go in.

But as usual it’s worth looking at what IMDb says about Interstellar:

A team of explorers travel through a wormhole in an attempt to find a potentially habitable planet that will sustain humanity.

Which is fairly innocuous, so so far so good.

I’ve been looking forward to seeing this ever since I caught a glimpse of a very early teaser trailer last year and the lovely poster at the top of this post. I generally really like Christopher Nolan’s films (The Prestige and Inception are standouts for me) and the idea of him doing a big sci-fi film really appealed so I have been watching the progress of this film with interest. My only minor concern was about the casting of Matthew McConaughey, but since the original announcement he has of course won an Oscar (didn’t see that film, not really my thing) and just as importantly for me was brilliant in True Detective, so all good there.

What can I say about this film?

I love sci-fi movies; I was brought up on films like 2001 and Silent Running, and I especially like ones with big dumb objects and space ships and (at least an attempt at) hard science and a sense of scale and wonder and I thought Interstellar delivered all of that in absolute spades. The premise of trying to find a solution for the problem of a dying world and the bravery of the people who would take on that sort of mission really worked for me. There were several times during the film where I was so emotionally engaged with it all that I found myself crying (though to be fair the Book God would point out that I am a sentimental Scottish person who cries at the drop of a hat, but that’s not important right now).

Some reviewers have criticised the amount of exposition that goes on between the scientists as a clumsy attempt to explain stuff about gravity and relativity and wormholes to ordinary mortals in the audience. Well, I can only go by my own experience which involves a first marriage to a man who studied theoretical physics as an undergrad and astrophysics as a postgrad (one of his friends worked at CERN for a while), and I can tell you that that’s what they do – they explain stuff they already know to each other all the time. So perhaps that’s why it didn’t jar with me, because I’ve been there and seen it happen. Though not actually in space obviously. Glasgow, actually.

I made a point of seeing this in IMAX and would recommend strongly that you do that if you can, the space stuff is mind-blowing and I still regret seeing Gravity on an ordinary screen.

But go and see this, please, you must. It may be flawed but it all comes from the right place and it’s still one of the best sci-fi movies I’ve ever seen. When I came out of the screening there was a message waiting for me from Silvery Dude who was on a business trip to Chicago and wanted to know how it was. I could only say that I didn’t have the words. At least, I didn’t then but I think I have now, rambling though they may be.

It is awesome.

And if you don’t believe me, go and look at Carl’s review here.

And if you don’t believe him then I can only quote Christopher Fowler, a man who definitely knows where his towel is, and who said:

[..] it’s a story about space and time that marries humanity and science, and that alone puts it into the top five SF movies ever made. Go along for three superbly suspenseful set pieces, two surprising casting choices and a robot called TARS that’s really a star

He’s totally right about the robot btw.

Do it. You know you want to!

