9f197bf5dd391d2c52bfc9bca4eab562I refuse to call it 2010: The Year We Made Contact because I’m pretty sure that wasn’t what it was called when it was released here in the UK *gulp* 30 years ago (the year I got married to my first husband actually) so for the purposes of this review and forever after it shall remain 2010 (or ten past eight as we used to joke at the time, how amusing we all were in our twenties (not))

Anyway, I digress.

What’s it all about?

It’s the sequel to 2001: A Space Odyssey of course, but specifically (according to IMDb):

A joint U.S.-Soviet expedition is sent to Jupiter to learn what happened to the Discovery.

Which assumes that everyone knows what the Discovery was (and to be honest what sic-fi fan doesn’t?)

Why did I want to watch it (again)?

This is one of my favourite films and I have lost count of how many times I’ve seen it. I can quote chunks of dialogue. But on this occasion the impetus behind watching it again was the excellent BBC documentary series Tomorrow’s Worlds which interviewed *swoon* Keir Dullea (displaying an astonishingly patriarchal beard and still very cool at 78).

What did I think of it (this time round)?

I still love this film, I will accept no other views, and although in some ways it is beginning show its age it’s still fabulous. Favourite things:

  • “Perhaps you will dream of HAL. Just as I often do”
  • young Helen Mirren rocking an 80’s curly perm (I had one of those *shudder*)
  • I love Roy Scheider
  • I adore Bob Balaban
  • “Good morning Dr Chandra, this is HAL. I’m ready for my first lesson”
  • voiceovers are bit clunky and full of exposition but hey, who cares?
  • music is still great
  • “What’s going to happen?” “Something wonderful”
  • “He was told to lie by people who find it easy to lie”
  • “I didn’t know. I DIDN’T KNOW”
  • “Dr Chandra? Will I dream?”

In fact all the HAL/Chandra interactions are absolutely wonderful and provides closure on aspects of the earlier film.

So glad I watched this again, and it’s a good entry for the Sci-Fi Experience 2015.

