6S1cQk9SxBkw8CRcppw03PWPVnwWhat’s it all about?

Really? OK, so:

An old bitter miser is given a chance for redemption when he is haunted by three ghosts on Christmas Eve.

Like you didn’t know that already.

Why did I want to watch it?

There have been many, many versions of A Christmas Carol – the Jim Carrey animated one (which I have seen and reviewed here), the Bill Murray modernised version (which is one of my favourites and which I reviewed here), the Muppets one with Michael Caine (which I haven’t seen in ages), the Jean-Luc Picard Patrick Stewart one (which is very well done), and my least favourite, the Albert Finney musical one. I am sure there are loads more, but the point is the Alistair Sim 1951 version is the classic and absolute best. And it was Christmas Eve after all.

What did I think of it?

I have seen this so, so many times since I was a small girl and it is such a favourite that it’s really difficult to be objective about something that is so much-loved. Sim is a great and under-appreciated actor and manages to convey both the miserly and horrible aspects of Scrooge as well as the wonderful transformation he undergoes after the spirits have visited. The supporting cast is great, including a number of stalwart British actors, some of whom were very young at the time (like Michael Hordern as Marley).

If you have never seen this then do please seek it out as a great post-war British film with a wonderful central performance, but if you do please please make sure you see the back & white original and not the later colourised version (I can’t find the words to describe how appalling it is). A Christmas treat.

