iron-manThis post originally appeared on my Bride’s Film page over on my other blog. I’m re-posting here with some added commentary (where appropriate) so that my film reviews are all in the same place.

Date watched: 4 May 2008 

What IMDb says:

After being held captive in an Afghan cave, an industrialist creates a unique weaponized suit of armor to fight against evil. This leads him to conflict within his own company.

What I said:

So off to the local multiplex this afternoon to see the first of the big summer blockbusters. Iron Man, directed by Jon Favreau and based on the comic book and (very poor) animated series, tells the story of Tony Stark, weapons manufacturer, and how he becomes a superhero.

Things I liked about this movie = Robert Downey jr (I think I’m in love), the special effects (very cool), the Iron Man suit (red and gold is so classic), the music (loud) and the explosions – lots and lots of very, very big explosions.

Things I didn’t like = minor quibbles really – the Jeff Bridges completely bald head & full beard combo (his face looks looks upside down), and, bless her, Gwyneth Paltrow is just not someone I’ve ever really warmed to.

The first hour or so is character driven and works really well in establishing Stark’s personality, and although some haven’t enjoyed the latter part which is basically big mechanised men thumping each other and causing major destruction all around them, well, that’s kind of what I went for, so no complaints there!

This is a definite DVD buy of the future.

Afterword:

Apparently I’ve seen it in full only the once though it really feels like I’ve watched it more times than that…. And I did buy it on DVD.

