1406298971_Sin_City_2_Final_1_Quad-600x450What’s it all about?

Some of Sin City’s most hard-boiled citizens cross paths with a few of its more reviled inhabitants.

Which tell you absolutely nothing at all about this film. TUT, IMDb, and I say again TUT. Useless.

What it’s actually about is three (or four, I lost count) interlocked stories over a vague timeline, all very much like the first film, in which there is indeed no justice without sin, though I would say there was more of the latter than the former.

Why did I want to see it?

I saw the first Sin City when it came out and really enjoyed it, though it was BTB (Before the Blog) so I have no review as such. But it was violent and stylish and astonishing (and probably ripe for re-watching now I think about it).

What did I think of it?

Hmmm. I didn’t hate this but I found it a really very disappointing and spent some time after watching it talking it through with the Book God (who seemed to feel the same), just to pin down where it had missed.

First the good things. A Dame to Kill For looks fantastic; there seemed to be a greater use of colour this time round which, though not excessive by any means, did seem to lose its impact because it appeared more frequently, but still cool. It had a strong cast, Powers Boothe and Mickey Rourke being the standouts but Joseph Gordon-Levitt was also good, and of course my girl-crush, Eva Green, was astonishing in a very mannered performance (which to be fair totally suited her character).

But.

But I found it a really cold film and more exploitative than I remember from the original. The female characters (other than Eva Green) seemed significantly less effective, especially Jessica Alba. Nudity is not normally an issue for me but it did seem to be over-used and therefore lost its impact. And the film just had no moral centre, largely because of the loss of a character similar to that played by Bruce Willis in the first film, and this becomes very noticeable on the short appearances he makes in the sequel/prequel/what-have-you. I just didn’t feel that I had anyone to root for, and although that isn’t always fatal for a film, it’s a problem here.

So, glad I saw it but unlikely that I’ll watch it again. Shame.

