MV5BMTI4MDA5NjIwM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTA2MjY0Mg@@._V1_SX214_AL_What’s it all about?

A small wooden box arrives on the doorstep of a married couple, who know that opening it will grant them a million dollars and kill someone they don’t know.

Well it doesn’t so much arrive as get mysteriously delivered, and they don’t know what’s going to happen until Frank Langella tells them so not entirely accurate synopsis IMDb guys.

Why did I want to see it?

Well, I remember thinking it looked like my kind of thing at the time it came out but just never got around to it I guess. But here we are now.

What did I think of it?

I really quite enjoyed The Box. I remember aeons ago reading the Richard Mattheson (of Incredible Shrinking Man and I Am Legend fame) story on which this is based so obvs knew what the dilemma was going to be but was interested in seeing how it would all work out in this version.

So the film is set in 1976 (when I was 14 years old, fact fans) so a great deal of pleasure was to be had in hideously patterned wallpaper, impressive maxi coats, feathered hairstyles, lots of cigarettes and a remarkable selection of manly sheepskin jackets. Cameron Diaz and James Marsden make a very handsome couple, she a teacher without tenure and a slight disability, him a rocket scientist who wants to be an astronaut, and things are not going well when Dracula *ahem* Frank Langella turns up with the box, the deal and with his really creepy part-of-my-face-is-missing-through-an-unfortunate-lightning-strike disfigurement. let’s just say he does not inspire confidence.

So what are they going to do when faced with the ultimate moral dilemma? And if they succumb, what will happen?

Originally a bit of a horror story this turns into a high-tech thriller and a nice sense of atmosphere. OK there’s quite  bit of exposition and a lot of gubbins which isn’t fully explained but I thought it was a very pleasant way to spend a Saturday afternoon and I was really keen to see how it would all turn out. Creepy library scene and Pink Floyd on the soundtrack were major bonuses.

And did I mention that Frank Langella was in it? I like him.

