MV5BMTQ3NzA1MTY3MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzE2Mzg5MTE@._V1_SX214_AL_What’s it all about?

Set in a future where a failed climate-change experiment kills all life on the planet except for a lucky few who boarded the Snowpiercer, a train that travels around the globe, where a class system emerges.

In fact a very rigid hierarchy within a closed ecological system. People need to know their place. Where you got on the train at the time of disaster is where you stay.

Why did I want to see it?

How can you resist a film set on a train that is perpetually circulating around the world, based on a French comic with the glorious title of Le Transperceneige starring Captain America, the War Doctor, the Voice of Tintin and *gasp* my hero Tilda Swinton, and directed by Joon-ho Bong. And did I mention they were on a train?

Also the longer it took Snowpiercer to  be released in the English-speaking territories the more cross I got and the more determined to see it, hence the Dutch DVD purchase.

What did I think of it?

This is totally mad. The poor and disenfranchised and frankly filthy people at the back of the train rise up in rebellion against everyone else with the vague objective of negotiating better conditions with Wilford, the designer of the train who has become something of a god (the train itself is often referenced in a religious way) so they fight their way through the carriages as others have before them.

It is odd and violent and stylish and Tilda has an accent (and a remarkable set of teeth) that wouldn’t be out of place on Coronation Street. But while watching I just kept on thinking “what are they going to do when they get to the front?” as I just couldn’t see how they could win and their struggle was therefore pointless. But of course there is a lot more to it than that.

I’m glad I saw it and intend to watch it again to see if the end is evident in the beginning, this time having successfully deployed he subtitles so that I can understand the Korean dialogue – though living as I do in the part of SW London that has one of the largest expatriate communities of South Koreans in Europe, I could just pop across the road and ask one of my lovely neighbours to translate 😀

This is definitely not for everyone but I liked it.

