MV5BMTgxMjgyMTcyNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDg1MTU1MQ@@._V1_SX214_AL_This post originally appeared on my Bride’s Film page over on my other blog. I’m re-posting here with some added commentary (where appropriate) so that my film reviews are all in the same place.

Date watched: 9 May 2008 

What IMDb says:

Faced with an unplanned pregnancy, an offbeat young woman makes an unusual decision regarding her unborn child..

What I said:

I know, I know, I’ve come to this so much later than everybody else. After all, Mark Kermode, reviewer of note, tells me every week when I listen to the podcast of his film reviews on Radio Five Live how much he liked this, and it was Oscar nominated and all that, but somehow I managed to miss this in the cinema. So I leapt at the chance when I saw that it was being shown at BFI South Bank and took myself along on the way home from work last night. No Book God accompanying me as he doesn’t really do quirky………..

I’m not going to go over the set-up at all because I’m sure we all know what this is about.

Things I liked about the movie = Ellen Page is fabulous (in fact all of the acting is superb), I love Allison Janney (the put-down she gives the ultrasound technician is great), I love Michael Cera, it is very, very funny and the music is great. Also, like the sentimental fool I am, I cried at the ending which, although embarrassing, is often a sign of deep satisfaction.

Things I didn’t like = there is absolutely nothing I didn’t like about this film. After I got home I quoted chunks of dialogue at the Book God, who humoured me as only the best husbands can.

Another one for the must buy on DVD list – a film that I suspect I’ll watch to cheer myself up and to remind me that people are basically decent and just trying to do the right thing.

Afterword:

I did buy it on DVD but I don’t think I’ve watched it again, really must put that right.

