MV5BMTIxOTY1NjUyN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjMxMDk1MQ@@._V1_SX214_AL_This post originally appeared on my Bride’s Film page over on my other blog. I’m re-posting here with some added commentary (where appropriate) so that my film reviews are all in the same place.

Date watched: 29 June 2008 on IMAX

What IMDb says:

In the Valley of Peace, Po the Panda finds himself chosen as the Dragon Warrior despite the fact that he is obese and a complete novice at martial arts.

What I said:

I’ve been looking forward to this film for ages; I really enjoy good animation and just the words “kung fu” and “panda” in the same sentence got my inner 14 year old very excited. So when we got the chance to see a preview at the IMAX cinema in London there was no way I was going to miss it.

Basic premise – Po is a panda obsessed with kung fu who is picked as the Dragon Warrior (seemingly by accident) over the Furious Five who are all adept at martial arts, and will have to face the evil Tai Lung who has escaped from prison and is coming back to the valley for revenge. The only problem is that Po is a panda – big and slow and not very agile, so how is he ever going to fulfill his destiny?

Things I liked about this movie = where to start?  – the animation is fantastic; Jack Black is brilliant as Po, in fact all of the voice artists are excellent; Tai Lung is a great villain, there is a strong message for us all to take away from the story; it’s laugh out loud funny in lots of places; the tubby guy is the hero (and I speak as a tubster myself); and it’s kung fu! with a panda! what’s not to like?

Things I didn’t like about this movie = if the only even remotely negative thing you can say about a film is that you wish the snow leopard wasn’t the baddie just cos you like snow leopards, then that’s pretty good going – and he really is an awesome villain!

I’m recommending this to all my friends with children and it is going on the “buy this as soon as it’s available on DVD” list. Absolutely adored it.

Afterword:

Still a favourite and the sequel wasn’t at all bad either 🙂

