MV5BNzM3NzU2NzUzMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjY2OTUxNw@@._V1_SX214_AL_What’s it all about?

Nearly a year after a botched job, a hitman takes a new assignment with the promise of a big payoff for three killings. What starts off as an easy task soon unravels, sending the killer into the heart of darkness.

Too right. Kill List starts off as an ultra-realistic violent thriller before turning into something altogether more disturbing.

Why did I want to watch it?

Do you know, I’m not entirely sure but I think that Mark Kermode fingered it as a TV movie of the week on the show he does with Simon Mayo and I had heard that it was a very strange and interesting film and so I decided to give it a whirl

What did I think of it?

I think it’s fair to say that I was really taken aback by Kill List. I hadn’t deliberately avoided reading up on it before I watched it but I knew that it was a violent film. What I hadn’t really picked up is that it’s a horror film, and I mean a real horror film where (relatively) ordinary lives spiral entirely out of control. And because I knew so little about the story – I mean, I knew that it was about contract killers, for example, but not much more than that and that it all goes Horribly Wrong – the way the film develops came as a real surprise to me, and the end was a real WTF moment because it was so out of left field and unexpected and disturbing.

Without giving anything away about the plot, this starts off as a very realistic and violent film about two ex-soldiers who have become killers for hire since leaving the army and who are getting back into the game after time off when a previous job went wrong (though we never find out exactly what happened). There are minor oddities at the start (the behaviour of one of the guests at a dinner party for instance) and then it slowly builds up with an increasing level of strangeness until it goes completely and horrifically weird. There’s no other way to describe it. And what’s really effective is there is no attempt to explain what the hell is actually going on. The film just ends.

For the first 20 minutes or so I really thought I was going to hate this film, but then (and I’m not sure exactly why) I became intrigued and wanted to know what was going to happen and straight after watching it I still wasn’t sure what I thought of it, but images from it have kept popping back into my head in the days that have followed and I wouldn’t be at all surprised if I decide to watch it again sometime. Because it really is unsettling and disturbing and to a certain extent pointless. But powerful, definitely powerful. Definitely.

