MV5BMTQyNTk5MTMxN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTc0ODI1NA@@._V1_SX214_AL_What’s it all about?

A psychological thriller about a man who is sometimes controlled by his murder-and-mayhem-loving alter ego.

I’m not sure controlled is the right word really. Egged on? Encouraged? Goaded? Forcefully persuaded into indulging his need to kill after a break of two years Earl Brooks, Man of the Year, gets a wee bit careless and finds that not only has his most recent kill been witnessed but there is a tenacious detective on his tail and his daughter has dropped out of  college with a big secret.

Why did I want to watch it?

I’ve had the DVD of Mr Brooks for ages, I think I must have bought it the year after the film was released but I can’t for the life of me work out why. I may even have asked for it as a present. Anyway, I don’t remember reading any reviews or anything. I wonder if it was just the idea of Costner as a serial killer? But here we are, finally got around to watching it.

What did I think of it?

Why have none of you told me about this movie before? I loved it, so sharp and clever and, yes, OK, a bit horrible in that you are (or at least I was) rooting for the serial killer guy to get away with it, but brilliantly done and clearly (as one of my friends said on Facebook when I posted I was  going to watch this) underrated.

So why did I think this was so cool?

  • Costner playing against type. I have to confess that I have never really liked our Kevin, I’ve always found him a little bit to full of himself and even the films of his that I have enjoyed have largely been despite rather than because of him (The Untouchables being a case in point), and his films are so long and seem so worthy and what’s great about him here is that he is in part so gleeful about his murdering skills. But I’m not going to get carried away and re-evaluate him just yet; this may simply be the exception that proves the rule
  • Demi Moore was also pretty good, and she’s another actor I have never really warmed to, but I liked her attitude in this, she was pretty convincing.
  • William Hurt as the alter ego – it’s William Hurt, ’nuff said (I have loved him since The Big Chill which is possibly my most favouritest film of all time)
  • That house. I really covet that house. Especially Marg Helgenberger’s closet. Also she was deeply glamorous in a realistically wealthy not at all over the top kind of way.
  • Even guessing the real secret behind his daughter’s stated secret didn’t spoil it, I just wanted to see what would happen. Also Danielle Panabaker.
  • The plot. It made sense.

I watched it on my own but have been annoying the Book God by suggesting he might like it as well (he does appreciate Costner but that’s because he likes long films, especially if they are Westerns; do not get me started on Wyatt Earp vs Tombstone).

If you like your movies dark and clever then this is worth a couple of hours of your time. I think this is going to become a real favourite.

