MV5BMTMzODU0NTkxMF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjQ4MzMzMw@@._V1_SX214_AL_This post originally appeared on my Bride’s Film page over on my other blog. I’m re-posting here with some added commentary (where appropriate) so that my film reviews are all in the same place.

Date watched: 5 July 2008

What IMDb says:

A rat who can cook makes an unusual alliance with a young kitchen worker at a famous restaurant.

What I said:

This is a film that I kind of thought I’d like to see at the cinema but never got around to, and then the Book God, who loves animation, bought it and it’s been kicking around on the “to be watched pile” for ages. We wanted something light to watch after the emotional season finale of Dr Who and this got picked.

So this is the story, as I’m sure you all know, of Remy , a French rat who loves good food and ends up taking control of a young kitchen worker called Linguini as a means to becoming a great chef. I really admire Pixar and was really looking forward to giving this a whirl so…..

Things I liked about this movie = the recreation of Paris is magnificent; Peter O’Toole is instantly recognisable; the food looked great

Things I didn’t like about this movie = I couldn’t quite put my finger on it but there was something not quite right; afterwards it came to me that you had two villains and therefore two climaxes to the film, one of which happens near the middle so the pacing was off

All in all I found this lovely to look at but vaguely disappointing, which is a shame and may just be me being picky…….

Afterword:

I don’t think I was being picky, I’ve never had the desire to watch this again.

