The_Borderlands_2013_film_posterWhat’s it all about?

A team of Vatican investigators descends upon a church in a remote area to demystify the unusual happenings, but what they discover is more disturbing than they had first imagined.

Understatement of the year.

Why did I want to watch it?

I like this sort of thing. Also any film that can disturb Mark Kermode to the point that he thought he might have to leave the screening must be worth a look. Also also, I love Gordon Kennedy, beardie Scotsperson of normally genial aspect.

What did I think of it?

Ooh, this was creepy to the max. I need to try to talk about it without actually telling you what actually happens because the development of the story and the ultimate denouement are best experienced by not knowing very much about what may be going on.

But basically there’s this church which a young priest has had reopened after it has languished in decay and disuse and shortly after it’s all been tidied up (and during a christening which now I look back on it is clearly significant) there appears to be some sort of supernatural happening which he of course interprets as a miracle. Cue the arrival of the Vatican investigation team who, to Father Crellick’s dismay, are there to debunk the whole thing (that’s what they do, apparently, test potential miracles to destruction).

It’s a found footage film, made possible by the fact that the team is very high-tech, so lots of microphones and CCTV and the team all have headcams they (theoretically) wear all the time and when the weird stuff happens the tension builds until ooh, it all gets very unsettling and disturbing and a bit WTF at the end.

The Borderlands is in the best tradition of low-budget British creepsters and it left me a bit freaked if I’m honest and, like all the best horrors, in the days since I’ve watched it scenes have been popping into my head and I’ve been pondering what it all meant and picking up references I may have missed at the time but make sense now, which is all very satisfying indeed.

I liked it, can you tell?

