MV5BMTQ0NTgzMzA2N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTI1NjQ2MQ@@._V1_SX214_AL_This post originally appeared on my Bride’s Film page over on my other blog. I’m re-posting here with some added commentary (where appropriate) so that my film reviews are all in the same place.

Date watched: 8 June 2008 

What IMDb says:

The story recounts the early life of Genghis Khan who was a slave before going on to conquer half the world including Russia in 1206.

What I said:

Going to see this film started off as a thing of duty; it was the day before the Book God’s birthday and he got to choose the movie. I expected Indiana Jones even thought the reviews had been mixed, but he plumped for this one. And I was totally surprised to find that I really, really enjoyed it, much more so than I had expected.

Mongol tells the story of the life of Genghis Khan up to the point where he unites all of the Mongol tribes. It starts when, as a young boy, he chooses a bride, Borte, clearly the love of his life and an influentiall figure in this film, which is as much a love story as anything else.

Things I liked about this movie = both of the actors playing Genghis; the actress playing Borte, who was truly beautiful; the scenery, which was astonishing; the epic sweep of the story; the clothes (in an odd sort of way)

Things I didn’t like = my only quibble was with the structure, as it was sometimes not entirely clear how much time had passed between the various episodes in the film. Decided it was best to just sit back and go along for the ride.

Worthy of its Oscar nomination. Might not buy on DVD but would certainly watch this again.

Afterword: Still proud of myself for having seen this 🙂

